7 Heavens in Islam: Seven levels of Jannah

7 Heavens in Islam

7 Heavens in Islam: Islam refers to heaven as Jannah, the paradisiac afterlife home of the righteous. In “gardens of pleasure,” as the holy Quran calls them, people are rewarded for their good deeds during their lifetime and after death. Therefore, it is thought that if one abides by Allah’s laws, does not sin, and lives a decent life, they will reach heaven. In Islam, there are seven levels of heaven, each of which contains a distinct prophet and has a unique core and architecture. We will discuss about these 7 Heavens in Islam, in this article.

Hell is known as “Jahannam” in the Quran. It is an area filled with raging fire and agonizing torments. One’s spirit is said to be physically tormented in a landscape of pits filled with fire and boiling water.

Muslims can avoid committing sins thanks to the Quran’s detailed explanations of it. Muslims must therefore adhere to all of the holy book’s teachings and accept accountability for their deeds. Let’s read about the 7 Heavens in Islam.

The 7 Heavens in Islam


According to Sahi and Al Bukhari, Jannah has 100 levels. The information comes from a hadith that reads:

“Jannah has one hundred levels and between each level is remoteness like the remoteness between the earth and the sky”.

However, academics contend that there are primarily seven levels of heaven in Islam when additional reliable narrations are taken into account. According to Muslim belief, a person will experience the advantages and benefits of any level of paradise depending on their actions throughout their time on earth.

What are the Seven Heavens in Islam?


7 Heavens in Islam


Every soul is assigned a place in one of the 7 levels of heaven in Islam based on a degree or grade. The level of heaven where one will stay after death is determined on how righteous one’s deeds are. In addition, different titles for heaven are given in Islam according to their merits. The following are the seven levels of heaven:

1. Jannat-al-Adan


The ‘everlasting place’ is here. A Muslim is given a position in this heaven after repenting and enduring punishment for each sin they have committed. Allah SWT stated in Surah Tawbah that He gave His followers the assurance that they will find a position in the Gardens of Adan.

2. Jannat-ul-Firdaws


A garden full of several kinds of plants is referred to as Firdaus. The place is covered in grapevines. It is the highest level of Kutub-i-Sitta and is regarded as being superior to all other levels.

3. Jannat-an-Naim


The Almighty discussed this level in Surah Yunus and claimed that those who have faith in Allah carry out good deeds. They reached this level because of their resolve to uphold morality throughout their lives. In the “Paradise of Delight,” these devotees would come upon rivers flowing beneath them and join this level built of iron.

4. Jannat-ul-Mawa


For devotees and martyrs, it serves as a brass resting place. Mawa is described as a location where people seek refuge. It has residences and homes. This level is discussed in Surah An Najm, which refers to it as the “Garden of Adobe” for refugees. It is located by a lote tree, which is situated on the periphery of heaven.

5. Dar-ul-Khuld


The ‘Garden of Immortality’ is the level where one can achieve immortality or eternality. One can live on forever here. The level is guaranteed to those who adhere to their path with unwavering commitment while remaining on it. This level of heaven ends the pilgrimage and makes up for the loss and suffering endured along the journey.

6. Dar-ul-Maqaam


It is a part of intrinsic nature itself. It is the location where the soul discovers an everlasting home. This stage of heaven is described in Surah al Fatir as a secure realm where all pain and fatigue disappear. It is a place where the soul is unaffected.

7. Dar-us-Salam


It is the home of happiness. This is the seventh level of heaven, the place where security and tranquility are found. The Almighty calls back those whom he had willed to follow the Straight Path in Surah al Yunus. Allah refers to it as a location where He would safeguard them in Surah al Ana’am.

According to several scholars, there is an eighth level of heaven known as Illiyyun. It serves as a haven for ideal Mumins (devotees and believers). The Hafaza angels, who guard souls, have their home there. People get the benefits of their good deeds here. According to certain scholars, Islam has a hundred different levels of paradise. A separate grade is mentioned for each level. The concept of a hundred levels is also used to describe the many levels of Jannah where believers are ranked according to their faults and good deeds. It is assumed that flight increases the distance between two levels.

7 Heavens mentioned in the Quran


1) The seven heavens declare His glory and the earth (too), and those who are in them; and there is not a single thing but glorifies Him with His praise, but you do not understand their glorification; surely He is Forbearing, Forgiving. (Surah 17, The Children of Israel)

2) He it is Who created for you all that is in the earth, and He directed Himself to the heaven, so He made them complete seven heavens, and He knows all things. (Surah 2, The Cow)

3) So He ordained them seven heavens in two periods, and revealed in every heaven its affair; and We adorned the lower heaven with brilliant stars and (made it) to guard; that is the decree of the Mighty, the Knowing. (Sura 41, Ha Mim)

7 Heavens in Islam FAQs


What are Jannah's seven levels?

In Islam, heaven is referred to by the names Jannat al Adan, Jannat ul Firdaws, Jannat-ul-Mawa, Jannat-an-Naim, Dar al-maqama, Dar al-salam, and Dar al-Akhirah.

How can one be sure they'll go into paradise or Jannah?

A follower of Islam is said to enter heaven if they live up to the teachings of the Quran and accomplish good deeds. The level of heaven is determined by the quantity of righteousness.

What is Barzakh?

A Muslim goes to Barzakh before Allah decides whether or not they will enter Jannah or Jahannam. It is a location where the living and the dead are distinguished.

Can a Muslim who is in hell enter heaven?

Islam has the view that after making atonement for their sins in hell, Mumins enter heaven. Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) made reference to this in a hadith.

What does heaven's eighth level mean?

Illiyyun, the eighth level of heaven, is where the Hafaza angels guard the souls who make it there.

In Islam, how many jannat levels are there?

The Holy Quran makes mention of seven jannat levels.



These were the 7 Heavens in Islam (Jannah). We should learn about the 7 Heavens in Islam, and remember the rewards for doing the good things. with this in mind, we should strive towards doing good deeds daily and avoid evil things and bad deeds.

If you liked this article on 7 Heavens in Islam, read more Islamic Blogs or Follow us on social media for daily Islamic reminders.

Kashif Ali

Learn More →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Millionaire Danny Lambo converts to Islam Importance of Rajab Month in Islam