The Three Ashras (Parts) of Ramadan and their Duas

The Three Ashras (Parts) of Ramadan

The Three Ashras (Parts) of Ramadan and their Duas: For Muslims, the month of Ramadan is regarded as the most significant period of the year. The Holy Quran was unveiled during the month of Ramadan, if we look at this holy month historically. The Holy Quran serves as a guide for all humanity and is regarded as the Holy Book by Muslims. The month of Ramadan is one of sacrifice, fasting, contemplation, giving, and devotion.

“It (Ramadan) is the month, whose beginning is mercy, its middle, forgiveness, and its end, release from the fire of hell.” said our beloved Prophet Muhammad (SAW). The term “Ashra” refers to these three Ramadan phases. Ashra is an Arabic word that signifies “ten” in English. There are three Ashras during Ramadan, and there is a different Dua for each. Here we will discuss The Three Ashras (Parts) of Ramadan and their Duas.

The Three Ashras (Parts) of Ramadan and their Duas


There are 3 Ashras during Ramadan, and each one has its own Dua. The first stage (Ashra) of Ramadan lasts from the first to the tenth of the month, the second stage (Ashra) is from the eleventh to the twentieth, and the third stage (Ashra) is from the twenty-first to the thirty-first. First Ashra is recognized as being Rehmah because it represents Allah’s Mercy. Because the second Ashra represents Allah’s forgiveness, it is known as the Maghfirah. Nijat, the third Ashra of Ramadan, symbolizes Safety from the Hell.

Ramadan is undoubtedly a month filled with blessings, compassion, and forgiveness. It is the ideal chance for all Muslims to receive more favors from Allah and to offer prayers for their repentance and salvation to get saved from Hell.

First Ashra of Ramadan – Rehmah (Mercy)


The first ten days of Ramadan are considered the Days of Mercy. In these times, every Muslim must turn to the compassion of the Almighty Allah. Muslims typically repeat a particular verse during the first ten days.

Dua for First Ashra of Ramadan:


Dua for First Ashra of Ramadan

رَبِّ اغْفِرْ وَارْحَمْ وَأَنْتَ خَيْرُ الرَّاحِمِينَ

Transliteration: Rabbigfir Warham wa’anta Khair ur Rahimeen

Translation: “O! My Lord forgives and have Mercy and You are the Best of Merciful” [Quran 23:118]

The first Ashra’s goal is to practice showing mercy to other people by offering charity, which is the deed that Allah loves the most. Be a good Muslim and keep your emotions under control.

Second Ashra of Ramadan – Maghfirah (Forgiveness)


The following ten days are known as the Second Ashra of Ramadan, which is a period of forgiveness. A Muslim must ask Almighty Allah for forgiveness and make amends for all of his sins because these are the days of forgiveness. Muslims typically recite a certain verse during the course of the following ten days.

Dua for Second Ashra of Ramadan:


Dua for Second Ashra of Ramadan

أسْتَغْفِرُ اللهَ رَبي مِنْ كُلِ ذَنبٍ وَأتُوبُ إلَيهِ

Transliteration: Astaghfirullah rabbi min kulli zambiyon wa atoobu ilaiyh

Translation: “I ask forgiveness of my sins from Allah who is my Lord and I turn towards Him.”

The ideal moment to ask Almighty Allah to pardon all of your sins is now since that is when His forgiveness is at its greatest. Constantly seek Allah’s mercy in this period of days. Be careful not to commit the same sins again after asking for forgiveness.

Third Ashra of Ramadan – Nijat (Safety from Hell)


According to the moon, the third Ashra of Ramadan begins on the 21st and concludes on the 29th or 30th. Safety from the Hell, or Nijat, is the third Ashra’s name. The goal of Ramadan is to seek refuge in Allah the Almighty from the fires of Hell. For the protection of the fires of Hell, every Muslim must pray. The Final Ashra is excellent and of great significance. This Ashra also includes Lailatul Qadar, which is superior to the nights of a thousand months. Many Muslims also engage in Aitkaf and work to get the most out of their prayers. Lailatul Qadar was described as follows by Allah SWT in the Holy Quran:

“We sent it (Quran) down on a blessed Night. Verily, We are ever warning. Therein (in that Night) is decreed every matter of ordainment. Amran (i.e. a command or this Quran or His Decree of every matter) from Us. Verily, We are ever sending (the Messenger) (As) a Mercy from your Lord.” (Quran, 44: 3-6)

Dua for Third Ashra of Ramadan:


Dua for Third Ashra of Ramadan

اللَّهُمَّ إِنَّكَ عَفُوٌّ تُحِبُّ الْعَفْوَ فَاعْفُ عَنِّي

Transliteration: Allahumma innaka afuwwun tuhibbul afwa fa’fu annee

Translation: “O Allah, You are Forgiving and love forgiveness, so forgive me”

Allah is the only one who has all knowledge and is the only source of power. May Allah grant us the fortitude to ask for His compassion, forgiveness, and Nijat from the Fire of Hell.


In actuality, Ramadan is a complete month of mercy from Allah, as well as forgiveness and salvation from Hellfire. None of these benefits are exclusive to any one part of the month over all other days, which illustrates the depth of Allah’s mercy. it’s a traditional practice that has developed over time.

That being the case, separating Ramadan into three distinct prayer periods—the first 10 days for mercy, the next 10 days for forgiveness, and the final 10 days for refuge from Hell—is an innovation without a foundation in Islamic teachings. Additionally, there is no justification for reserving these specific times for these supplications because all of Ramadan’s days are equivalent in that respect.

Instead, during Ramadan, a Muslim is free to ask Allah for anything positive he desires, including mercy, forgiveness, deliverance from the Hellfire, and entrance into Paradise.


The Muslims should make a lot of duaa, or prayers, to their Lord, may He be exalted, asking for kindness and mercy, especially during this month. They should make the most of this period of goodness and blessing (barakah).

Conclusion: Three Ashras of Ramadan and their Duas


Whether is Ramadan divided into three ashras or not, should not prevent us from praying to Allah with full hearts for mercy, forgiveness, and refuge from Hellfire every day of the month.

These were The Three Ashras (Parts) of Ramadan and their Duas. Read more Islamic Blogs or Follow us on social media for daily Islamic reminders.

Kashif Ali

Learn More →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Millionaire Danny Lambo converts to Islam Importance of Rajab Month in Islam